Delicious or Nutritious? Neely’s BBQ Parlor

21 Jul

1125 1st Avenue
New York, NY 10065
212-832-1151

In honor of the passing of Restaurateur Sylvia Woods, the “Queen of Soul Food”, I decided to have some soul food, from Neely’s BBQ Parlor. I’m normally not the biggest fan of southern cooking as most of the cuisine consists of fried foods and lots of butter, but there are a few selections I enjoy from time to time.

For $37 including a tip I had a FULL meal complete with an entrée, four sides and dessert! The “Blue Ribbon” Chicken – named so because it is cooked with a can of Pabst Blue Ribbon beer in its belly, NOT because it was a prize winning chicken prior to being cooked and consumed – was the only part of my meal flavored with something other than butter. The entrée came with two sides, so I chose sweet potato fries and macaroni and cheese – both of which come as small, but appropriately-sized portions. The sweet potato fries were great and held up the next day as well. The macaroni and cheese however was heavier and creamier than I personally like and was made with shells rather than traditional macaroni. The half chicken and two sides were definitely enough to fill me up and save leftovers, but I couldn’t resist also ordering my favorite soul food side – cornbread.

“Blue Ribbon” Chicken, $17.95; Cornbread with Creamery Butter, $3.50; Steamed Tiny Green Beans, $4.95

Apparently I hadn’t had enough carbs so I ordered the cornbread, which came with two pieces in an order. I was delighted to find that the cornbread was indeed moist and not dry like some other soul food spots. Even though I didn’t need it I spread the tiny packet of creamery butter that came with the side and of course it tasted even better. Since my leftover lunch salad from Pescetore didn’t complete my daily vegetable requirements, I added on the steamed green beans to my order. Bad decision. The green beans were flavorless and no amount of butter, salt or pepper could save them. The only thing that could save my palate at this point would be dessert.

Warm Peach Crisp with Caramel Ice Cream, $7.00

The warm peach crisp came with a large scoop of caramel ice cream and that combination was IMMACULATE! The crisp was portioned just big enough to satisfy my sweet tooth without packing on TOO many additional calories to my already carb-laden meal.

Well season chicken, moist cornbread and sweet cobbler. Downright DELICIOUS!

2 Responses to “Delicious or Nutritious? Neely’s BBQ Parlor”

  1. Jenna S August 13, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    Great recommendation. Loved the sweet potato fries!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Delicious or Nutritious? Casaville Restaurant « Living Fiesta - September 24, 2012

    […] so I wasn’t completely surprised that the ice cream came melted, but I did hope they had some sort of preventative measure to keep it cool. Why would you offer frozen dessert on your delivery menu if you don’t have a way to keep it […]

Speak on it...

