Delicious or Nutritious? Hawaiian Island Grill

10 Sep

Hawaiian Island Grill
231 E 53rd St
New York, NY 10022
(212) 201-7603

I had no idea what “Hawaiian” food was until I looked at the menu from Hawaiian Island Grill. Much like the people and culture of the island, Hawaiian food is a blend of North American and Asian influences. That said I was able to get a Cheeseburger,  a Mix plate special, Hawaiian street corn and sweet potato for under $40. Talk about a bang for your buck!

Cheeseburger

I’m not a huge fan of red meat but will indulge in the occasional cheeseburger every now and then. I was a little worried that it only cost $5.50 (are they using real meat?) but was pleased with the outcome. This North American favorite came in an Asian-sized portion (small, as opposed to your standard oversized US patty) and was made with real ground beef – not a frozen patty – and served with white American cheese, lettuce, tomato, and onion. Despite the small size it was still served in an American sized bun, which was more than I cared for. Of all the items I ordered this was probably my favorite.

Mix plate special

I was less fond of their Mix plate special. The special allows you to choose two entrees and two sides with a salad. I went with the Smoked grilled Miso glazed salmon and Honey dijon grilled chicken breast. For my sides I had brown rice and corn on the cob.

The two entrees were weren’t exactly impressive. The Honey chicken was pretty decent, a healthier alternative to fried chicken fingers with honey mustard, but the salmon was pretty uneventful. It tasted like it could’ve been boxed or frozen and heated up – possibly not even real fish. The street corn was AWESOME. It was dusted in cheese similar to Mexican corn, just without the mayonnaise. I’m glad I ordered an extra side of it!

Both the brown rice and steamed sweet potato were bland and non-descript. I didn’t finish either.

I love that they had an eclectic mix of foods. I wish that the food wasn’t so hit or miss.

Hawaiian Island Grill is somewhat DELICIOUS!

One Response to “Delicious or Nutritious? Hawaiian Island Grill”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Delicious or Nutritious? ABA Turkish Restaurant « Living Fiesta - October 12, 2012

    […] I’ve been very disappointed with the salmon dishes I’ve received, but ABA managed to fix all that. I was weary about the accompanying salad, since side salads can […]

Speak on it...

