Delicious or Nutritious? Tina’s Cuban Cuisine

14 Sep


23 W 56th St
New York, NY 10019
(212) 315-4313

You typically can’t go wrong with rice and chicken so I tried Tina’s Cuban Cuisine for a few rice and chicken combos that lasted for a few meals.

Shrimp in garlic sauce with red beans and rice

Each special dish comes with two sides so I tried the Shrimp in garlic sauce with rice and beans. They alternate between red and black beans daily – I ordered on a day when they do red. The three of these together was the BEST combination I’ve come up with so far!

Spicy grilled chicken with moro rice and salad

Their Spicy grilled chicken was good – especially with the green sauce that came on the side. The green sauce also drastically helped with Moro rice, which was fine without sauce, just extremely dry. I’d also asked for a side salad – big mistake. In my effort to be healthy, I ended up with a small tasteless salad that well, tasted like it was free.

Baked chicken with yellow rice and salad

The Baked chicken tasted well on the first day, but didn’t quite hold up as well as a leftover. Even though my side of yellow rice was somewhat flavorful, it was also pretty dry without any beans. Green sauce was DEFINITELY needed for this, particularly on the second day.

I love that the food was so affordable and came in large portions. I wish that they had more healthy options like brown rice and more vegetables.

Tina’s Cuban Cuisine is DELICIOUS!

Speak on it...

