Delicious or Nutritious? ZaZa Ristorante Italiano

8 Oct

1207 1st Avenue
New York, NY 10065
(212) 772-9997

I was looking to go big – order an expensive $40 meal that I otherwise wouldn’t buy for myself. This landed me at ZaZa Ristorante Italiano.

Shrimp and saffron risotto

For my main course I went with the Shrimp and saffron risotto. The portion size was DEFINITELY worth $25. I often expect seafood meals to have an unfair shrimp to starch ratio; but was delighted to find numerous standard-sized butterfly shrimp with adequate saffron flavoring. It was just enough to add flavor, but not overpowering.

In case I was in search of validation for the authenticity of ZaZa’s “Italian-ness”, the al dente texture of the rice set me straight. Between the presentation and taste, I’d definitely order this dish again.

I Sorbetti (Lemon)

I wish I could say I was as pleased with my dessert’s presentation as I was with the meal. The packaging was NOT what I expect from a restaurant of their caliber – aren’t fancier restaurants known for their presentation? ZaZa didn’t even attempt to fool me into thinking it came in-house – the sorbet was sent tome in it’s original packaging! This broke my heart.

I Sorbetti (Lemon) out of original packaging

After I got my scissors and opened the plastic wrap I was delighted to see the unique style their distributor used; the sorbet was scooped into a large hollow lemon and served as such. Cute!

I loved the authentic taste of the risotto. I wish they took more time to package their desserts – it’s just as important as the actual meal!

With its authentic Italian taste, ZaZa Ristorante Italiano is DELICIOUS!

One Response to “Delicious or Nutritious? ZaZa Ristorante Italiano”

  1. Lainey October 8, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    Both look great to me!

Speak on it...

