Delicious or Nutritious? Mi Nidito

24 Oct

852 8th Avenue
New York, NY 10019
(212) 265 – 0022

I’ll be honest, I’m not the biggest fan of Mexican food: It’s just not that tasty to me and I hate that it’s generally unhealthy yet easily accessible. Ordering from Mi Nidito helped alter my opinion.

Quesadilla

One of their more popular items, the Quesadilla came as six little triangles and the option of a whole wheat tortilla at no additional cost. For an extra four dollars I added grilled chicken, onions and bell peppers – good decision. With the added protein and veggies I was full from this appetizer alone.

Chimichanga entree

I also went with their Chimichanga entrée, chicken of course. The plate came with vegetable infused rice, refried beans (they let me sub in black beans) and a dollop of both sour cream and guacamole. I’m usually a bit wary of chimichangas, as they’re just fried burritos (translation: unnecessary extra calories and fat) but Mi Nidito’s version was only lightly fried and slightly crispy. I still got the chimichanga flavor without the heavy feel.

I love that they offered healthy alternatives without completely changing the meal. I wish that sour cream didn’t automatically come with everything.

With healthy alternatives that manage to maintain the original Mexican recipes, Mi Nidito is DELICIOUS and NUTRITIOUS!

Speak on it...

