Delicious or Nutritious? Aoki Japanese Restaurant

26 Oct

234 W 48th St
New York, NY 10036
(212) 956-2355

In search of sushi, I found myself at Aoki Japanese Restaurant for my usual rolls and something more. I was happy to discover that my $40 covered two rolls, Japanese curry chicken and a soft shell crab!

Eel and Avocado Roll, Salmon Roll

Thankfully the sushi was great! It was an appropriate temperature for sushi, nice and chilled and the avocado with eel combination worked wonders. Their salmon roll was decent; although there was nothing special to say about it. Lucky for me, these are two rolls I normally order and didn’t expect any disappointments.

Japanese curry chicken

I decided to try their Japanese curry chicken. Love Indian, Thai, and Jamaican curry so this should be no different right? Wrong.

I expected it to taste similar to Thai green curry, but it was actually more like Jamaican – it even had potatoes. The chicken itself was overcooked and the sauce was very lumpy. NOT IMPRESSED.

Soft shell crab

I’ve worked at several upscale restaurants where Soft shell crab was sometimes featured as a special, and it ALWAYS sold out. Naturally I ordered the appetizer to find out what all the fuss was about. After tasting the dish I understand the demand! IT reminded me of shrimp tempura but a lot softer. The accompanying barbecue type flavored sauce complemented it well also, it was just a tad thick.

I love the eel and avocado roll and the affordable soft shell crab. I wish they didn’t attempt to make curry chicken. 😦

With affordable delicacies, Aoki Japanese Restaurant is generally DELICIOUS!

One Response to “Delicious or Nutritious? Aoki Japanese Restaurant”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Delicious or Nutritious? Hakata Grill « Living Fiesta - January 30, 2013

    […] liked soft-shell crab the first time I had it, so when I saw they had a Spider Roll made with soft shell crab and avocado I thought it’d be […]

Speak on it...

