Delicious or Nutritious? Matsu Sushi

28 Nov

411 East 70th Street
New York, NY 10021
(212) 744-4447

I enjoyed being adventuresome with my sushi, so I decided to try it again, this time at Matsu Sushi.

Shrimp tempura roll and King crab California roll

I started off with something safe – a shrimp tempura roll. Luckily it lived up to my expectations. I got slightly adventuresome with a King crab California roll. Not completely adventurous but I’ve never had crab in a roll. I quickly found out that I prefer my crab out of the shell. It wasn’t bad per se, but it certainly wasn’t as good as any of my usuals.

Wow-wow roll

The real adventure came when I tried the Wow-wow roll. Listed as one of their “Rolls to Remember”, Wow-wow was a spicy salmon avocado, eel and tobiko roll wrapped with a special crispy skin sans rice. This roll was the sushi equivalent of a fat sandwich, all of the ingredients sound good but have no business being put together in one serving. Unfortunately this was a roll to remember, but not for good reasons.

Fried ice cream

I decided another fried ice cream this week wouldn’t be such a bad idea so I ordered one. They didn’t offer different flavors so I was a bit upset when a green tea flavored ice cream arrived with my meal. First, they neglected to take any precautions to keep it cold, so I had smushed pieces of breading and green slime in a container. Second, green tea is a horrible idea for an ice cream flavor.

I love that they offer so many different options. I wish that they weren’t soo experimental. Sometimes simplicity is best.

With its wacky creations, which are mostly fried, Matsu Sushi is neither DELICIOUS nor NUTRITIOUS!

Speak on it...

