Delicious or Nutritious? Amaze Restaurant

7 Dec

Amaze Restaurant

694 Third Avenue
New York, NY 10017
(212) 986-5555

After a super healthy meal a few days before, I must have thought I wanted something less nutritious. With only 20 minutes to order food, I ended up at Amaze Restaurant, an eatery that doesn’t seem to distinguish between the several different countries and cuisines in Asia. Due to their fusion style and affordable price, I was able to get a sushi roll, crab cake, Pad Thai and General Tso’s chicken.

Amazing crab cake

Amazing crab cake

Lately when I’ve ordered a crabcake it’s been pretty small, so that’s what I expected with the Amazing crab cake. Instead they sent two thin, yet wide, VERY crispy patties. I could taste the oil and no, the sauce didn’t help at all. What a disappointment. On to my go-to Thai dish, Pad Thai.

Pad Thai (chicken)

Pad Thai (chicken)

Pad Thai is usually the “peanut butter and jelly” of Thai – can’t go wrong right? WRONG. I’m not even sure what to say. It was just gross. Not over or undercooked just really gross. The ¼ slice of lime on the side did nothing for it. I had my fingers crossed for another go-to meal – General Tso’s chicken.

General Tso's chicken

General Tso’s chicken

Now I know all this fried food is bad for you but I also figured they’d all be safe choices and I’d end up not eating one of ‘em. With a fail behind the crab cake and Pad Thai I thought this Chinese staple HAS to do something for me. Not this time. The chicken resemble Katsu chicken but with sauce on it. The broccoli was overcooked so without chicken or broccoli there was no need to ear the brown rice. At this point I just expected the sushi to be bad as well.

Sushi roll

Sushi roll

Since “safe” seemed to be the theme here, I went with a Salmon roll. Luckily this was as I expected – decen.t By the time I got to the sushi I realized I should have just ordered a few rolls.

I love that the portions were so generous. I wish that I didn’t taste so much oil in the food.

The only thing I was amazed by is how bad their “safe” dishes could be. With an excess of oil and poor cooking methods, Amaze is neither DELICIOUS nor NUTRITIOUS!

One Response to “Delicious or Nutritious? Amaze Restaurant”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Delicious or Nutritious? Outback Steakhouse « Living Fiesta - December 12, 2012

    […] the previous night’s fail, I decided I deserved a treat, so I tried Outback Steakhouse. I’d been hesitant to try the […]

Speak on it...

