Delicious or Nutritious? Hakata Grill

30 Jan

Hakata Grill230 W 48th St
New York, NY 10036
212-245-1020

Sushi can get kind of boring, so lately I’ve made an attempt to try new, creative rolls. Since this doesn’t always work out, when ordering from Hakata Grill I was sure to stick with a tested favorite while trying new things too.

Spider Roll

Spider roll

I liked soft-shell crab the first time I had it, so when I saw they had a Spider Roll made with soft shell crab and avocado I thought it’d be a good idea. Ehh. It was cool but to be honest I would’ve been better off with simple tuna.

Spicy Salmon Roll

Spicy salmon roll

The less adventuresome Spicy salmon roll did not disappoint. While trying two adventuresome rolls at once was exciting, it was nice to have some normalcy.

Dragon roll

Dragon roll

My ultimate adventure roll was the Dragon roll. Eel and cucumber with large pieces of avocado on top – INTERESTING! Unfortunately the taste wasn’t as impressive as the description. I’m not sure when or why putting avocado in sushi became a cool idea but it’s not always that great of a combination. In small doses sure but as half the meal, not so much.

IMG_2090I love that they had so many different options. I wish that they’d ration out their avocado a bit more.

With an assortment of different rolls filled with avocado, and  cream cheese that don’t live up to the hype, Hakata Grill is neither DELICIOUS or NUTRITIOUS!

One Response to “Delicious or Nutritious? Hakata Grill”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Delicious or Nutritious: Lasagna Restaurant « Living Fiesta - February 6, 2013

    […] could’ve went for a more traditional lasagna with bolognese sauce, but still in my adventurous mode, decided to try their Lobster lasagna. I quickly discovered the meaning of “if it ain’t […]

Speak on it...

