Best thing I bought this month: August 2013

29 Aug

August was a great month for me! I made an appearance on Glamour.com, discovered a new lip color from the Marc Jacobs Beauty line, and even got Beyonce tickets for December (Go Giiiiirl!)! As happy as I am about all those accomplishments,  the highlight of my month  was this Pleated Faux Leather Skirt in “Holiday Crush” by French Connection I found at Bloomingdales.

Pleated Faux Leather Skirt French Connection $148

Pleated Faux Leather Skirt
French Connection $148

I love this skirt because it’s what I like to call a now-and-later piece: there are elements of the skirt that apply to both summer (now) and fall (later). It’s mid-thigh length and salmon-y color exude summer style while the faux leather is more appropriate for fall. I also love how the feminine pleats hide any potential trouble spots!

So how does one take this piece from now to later? While it’s still warm out, I’ll pair it with light colors, sandals, and my 2013 summer staple – crop tops. Once it gets a bit colder I’ll offset the pinkish pigment with autumn hues such as black or olive green, and pair with tights, booties and jackets to stay warm.

My favorite thing about this purchase? It retails for $148 but due to end of season sales and customer loyalty discounts I only paid $31 for it! Shopping lesson here – search sales racks for end of season items that carry over to the next season. You’ll get something that stays in style for a while without spending major bucks.

How would YOU style this piece?

One Response to “Best thing I bought this month: August 2013”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Best thing I bought this month: Pour la Victoire Purple pointed pumps | Living Fiesta - September 30, 2013

    […] does one do with purple shoes? For starters, I’ll pair them with the faux leather French Connection skirt I snagged last month.  They’ll also serve as an awesome pop of color for an otherwise dark […]

Speak on it...

