Dressing Appropriately for the Office Holiday Party

19 Dec

In my short time in Corporate America I’ve noticed how much guidance people still need specifically when dressing for the annual end of year holiday party. Note to all –  An office holiday party is still an office holiday party.  To avoid overdoing it, stick to something generally work appropriate but add a little pizazz.

Office-Holiday-Party-LBD

This year I went with an LBD that had just a little ruching on the side. Every fashion blog tells you to keep one in your closet because it’s super versatile and it REALLY is. By day, I donned a black cardigan and basic black pumps, but by night, I ditched the card and traded my basic shoes for an open-toed pair with a fun red bow. This way I got away with a look I couldn’t normally do in the office but I won’t make water cooler chatter for the next day. The takeaway here? Bend the rules, don’t break them.

Office-Holiday-Party-Shoes-2

I also took advantage of my VIB Rouge status at Sephora and popped in for a custom makeover for the party. I normally wouldn’t wear orange lids and a red lip to my conservative office but since this is the holiday party I stepped things up another notch. Between open toed shoes and a full face of makeup I’ve reached my rule breaking limit for the office so I’ll avoid anything extra. Take things up a notch or two but no further!

Office-Holiday-Party-Makeup

I know, I know. It’s tempting to say, “But this is a party!” Remember office outings are NOT the same as outings with friends. Yes you can have fun, but you don’t want your boss or coworkers looking at you as anything but a responsible employee. Save the fun and sexy looks for your friends. With that in mind, while I went with a basic LBD for the work party, here’s what I’ll be wearing when I party with my friends tonight:

L'Wren-Scott-Banana-Republic-Red-Sweetheart-Dress

Don’t mind the facial expression or the blurriness. I was too busy feeling myself and practicing my swag to focus the camera #GahdamnGahdamn

Got more specific holiday party look questions? Feel free to ask them in the comments section and I’ll address them in a later post!

3 Responses to “Dressing Appropriately for the Office Holiday Party”

  1. Friday Foster December 19, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    Love the black dress. And as far as company holiday parties…people always end up showing their arse, especially those you least expect. It’s quite amusing.

    • Esta Fiesta December 19, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

      Thanks Friday Foster!!! Got it at Express and they have 50% off online and in-store today.

      Yes there’s ALWAYS someone making a fool of themselves. I just do my best to make sure it’s not me! Dress appropriately n sip slowly!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Holiday Party Blues | marissabergen602 - December 19, 2013

    […] Dressing Appropriately for the Office Holiday Party (livingfiesta.com) […]

Speak on it...

